Klaus D. Jung · Coaching and Courses for Opera and the Art of Singing

bio-klaus-dieter-jungKlaus D. Jung

Born in Weimar, I began my musical education at the local conservatory Franz Liszt and later completed a conducting degree at the music conservatory Hanns Eisler in Berlin. I also attended master classes by Arvid Jansons, Kurt Masur, and others. I have been active as a conductor in Germany and Austria since 1984. After my time as Kapellmeister at the theaters in Erfurt und Plauen, I was the Musikdirektor of the Landestheater Niederoesterreich St. Poelten from 1991 to 2001. I also led the extra choir of the Vienna State Opera.
Guest Conducting led me to the Austrian Operettafestival in Bad Ischl and Bad Hall. I have also been in China multiple times leading the Wuhan Symphonic Orchestra as well as concert tours. Between 2002 and 2006, I collaborated with the Vienna Boys Choir, and I performed with them in numerous concerts and tours as both conductor and accompanist. In 2004, I became musical director of the Hamburger Kammeroper. Until 2008, I arranged multiple operas as chamber works for them, all of which are published with Ricordi.
Alongside those commitments, I have worked at the Salzburger Osterfestspiele, Wiener Festwochen, Acadmia Vocalis Tirol, sat on the jury panel at the International Vienna Hans Gabor Belvedere Voice Competition, and was the Artistic Director of the Nico-Dostal-Competition. I have collaborated closely with voice pedagogue Prof. Olga Hofmann and, as initiator of the Hugo-Wolf-Competition Perchtoldsdorf 2002, with Hans Hotter and Elisabeth Schwarzkopf. For many years I have been sharing my experience in opera, operetta, and Lied with young singers. I have done so at the Hamburg Conservatory, but also internationally in workshops and academia including the University of Memphis, the University of North Carolina, the Duke University, as professor at the Jining University Qufu/China, in Slovenia, and in the Steiermark.


bio-katharina-luehrCatharina Lühr (Course Zarrentin)

Catharina Lühr was born in Hamburg and received her education as Diplom Rhytmikerin at the Hamburg Konservatorium. She also studied contemporary dance and choreography at the Centre International de la Danse in Paris. She later worked in Hamburg and Paris as freelance dancer. Since the 1990s, Catharina Lühr has been a free choreographer and worked at the Thalia Theater in Hamburg, in Bayreuth, for the Salzburg Festival, at the Scala of Milan, at the opera house of Zurich, at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, at the Styriarte in Graz, at the opera Amsterdam, at the Theater an der Wien, in Madrid, and in Berlin. She worked with directors such as Jürgen Flimm, Andrea Breth, Christoph Marthaler, and Katharina Thalbach, as well as conductors Nikolaus Hanoncourt, Riccardo Muti, and Daniel Barenboim


eve marie labrie loiselleÈve-Marie Labrie-Loiselle

Ève-Marie Labrie-Loiselle first studied musical theater at Cégep Lionel-Groulx in Canada and thereafter classical singing at Université Laval. She employed her leadership and capacity to support the development of artists in the following projects: coordinator of the variety show “Cabaret Rose” (Eastman/Canada), assistant stage director at “Opera Barga Festival” (Barga, Italy) and at “Universität der Künste“ (Berlin/Germany), stage director for concerts of “Tempêtes et Passions” (Québec/Canada) and choreographer at “Deutsche Oper” (Berlin/Germany). In summer 2015, she was the manager of the artistic office for the “Festival Junger Künstler” (Bayreuth/Germany) where she also gave acting workshops.

As an acting coach, she puts the main emphasis of her work on the body and movements so that they meld totally with the words and the music. The body, as an instrument of expression, can conquer the stage and enables individual acting notes.

Klaus D. Jung · Coaching und Kurse für Oper und Gesang

bio-klaus-dieter-jungKlaus D. Jung

In Weimar geboren, begann er seine musikalische Ausbildung an der dortigen Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt und absolvierte später ein Dirigentenstudium an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin. Daneben besuchte er Meisterkurse u.a. bei Arvid Jansons und Kurt Masur. Seit 1984 ist er als Dirigent hauptsächlich in Deutschland und Österreich tätig. Nach Engagements als Kapellmeister an den Theatern in Erfurt und Plauen war er von 1991 bis 2002 Musikdirektor des Landestheater Niederösterreich St. Pölten sowie an der Wiener Staatsoper Leiter des Zusatzchores.
Gastdirigate führten Klaus D. Jung zu den österreichischen Operettenfestspielen in Bad Ischl und Bad Hall, aber auch mehrfach nach China, sowohl zum Wuhan Symphonie Orchestra als auch im Rahmen von Konzertreisen. Zwischen 2002 und 2006 ergab sich eine schöne Zusammenarbeit mit den Wiener Sängerknaben, mit denen er zahlreiche Konzerte und Tourneen als Dirigent und Pianist absolvierte. 2004 übernahm er die Musikalische Leitung der Hamburger Kammeroper, für die er bis 2008 auch zahlreiche Opernbearbeitungen für Kammerbesetzung schrieb, die alle im Verlag Ricordi erschienen sind.
Daneben hatte er verschiedene Engagements u.a. bei den Salzburger Osterfestspielen, den Wiener Festwochen, der Academia Vocalis Tirol, war Jurymitglied beim Internationalen Wiener Hans Gabor Belvedere Gesangswettbewerb und Künstlerischer Leiter des Nico-Dostal-Operetten-Wettbewerbs. Eine intensive Zusammenarbeit verband ihn mit der Gesangspädagogin Prof. Olga Hofmann und, als Initiator des Hugo-Wolf-Wettbewerbes Perchtoldsdorf 2002, mit Hans Hotter und Elisabeth Schwarzkopf. Seit vielen Jahren gibt Klaus D. Jung seine umfangreichen Erfahrungen mit Oper und Operette, aber auch im Bereich des Liedes an junge Sänger weiter, so am Hamburger Konservatorium, aber auch international im Rahmen von Workshops und Akademien, u.a. an der University of Memphis, der University of North-Carolina, der Duke University, als Gastprofessor der Jining University in Qufu, mit Meisterklassen am China-Konservatorium Peking, der Kunst-Universität in Jinan, der Universität Nanjing und zahlreichen anderen chinesischen Universitäten sowie in Slowenien und in der Steiermark. Daneben leitet er auch regelmäßig Workshops und Kurse für Chorleiter, Dirigenten, Chöre und Orchester in Deutschland und China.


bio-katharina-luehrCatharina Lühr

Catharina Lühr wurde in Hamburg geboren und erhielt am dortigen Konservatorium eine Ausbildung zur Diplom-Rhythmikerin. Sie nahm außerdem am Centre International de la Danse in Paris ein weiteres Studium in den Fächern Zeitgenössischer Tanz und Choreographie auf. Danach arbeitete sie in Hamburg und Paris als freie Tänzerin.

Seit den 1990er Jahren ist Catharina Lühr als freie Choreographin tätig und war bisher am Thalia Theater in Hamburg, in Bayreuth, für die Salzburger Festspiele, an der Mailänder Scala, am Opernhaus Zürich, am Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, bei der Styriarte in Graz, an der Oper Amsterdam, am Theater an der Wien, in Madrid, an den Landestheatern Tübingen und Stendal, in Würzburg und in Berlin beschäftigt. Dabei arbeitete sie mit namhaften Regisseuren wie Jürgen Flimm, Andrea Breth, Christoph Marthaler, Katharina Thalbach, Markus Dietze, Simone Sterr, Werner Schroeter und Ralf Siebelt sowie den Dirigenten Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Riccardo Muti und Daniel Barenboim zusammen.


eve marie labrie loiselleÈve-Marie Labrie-Loiselle

Ève-Marie Labrie-Loiselle studierte in Kanada am Cégep Lionel-Groulx zunächst Musicalinterpretation und daraufhin an der Université Laval Opern- und Liedgesang. Ihre Kompetenzen im Führen und Weiterentwickeln von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern brachte sie vor allem in folgenden kulturellen Projekten zum Einsatz: Organisatorin der Sommervarieté-Show "Cabaret Rose" (Eastman/Kanada) , Regieassistentin beim "Opera Barga Festival" (Barga/Italien) und an der Universität der Künste (Berlin), Konzertregisseurin für "Tempêtes et Passions" (Québec/Kanada) sowie als Choreografin an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Im Sommer 2015 übernahm sie außerdem die Leitung des künstlerischen Betriebsbüros des Festival Junger Künstler Bayreuth und leitete in diesem Rahmen Schauspiel- und Opernworkshops.

Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit als Coach sind das Zusammenwirken von Körpersprache, Text und Musik mit dem Körper als zentralem Darstellungsinstrument, das den Bühnenraum dominiert und ermöglicht, eigene Akzente zu setzen.